What can we celebrate today?

Happy Rubber Eraser Day!

Posted on: April 15, 2012

Ahhh.. the classic Pink Pearl eraser.

Shhh… I have a secret to tell you. Don’t tell anyone, though, because I don’t want everyone to know just how weird I really am.

I have an office supply addiction. It’s true. I love walking through Staples, touching paper, picking up paper clips and sticky notes to sniff them, eyes glazed over, mouth drooping every so slightly. It’s rather embarrassing, actually, but I can’t seem to help myself.

Look! Erasers that double as toys. We start the kids on multitasking very early.

The worst of the addiction, though (aside from smart phone accessories), is reserved for erasers. I don’t know if it’s the soft, smooth texture; or if it’s the ever growing variety now available, or if it’s just how incredibly convenient it is to be able to wipe away mistakes, but I love rubber erasers. My favorites are the classic pink pearl erasers I used to get every year while school supply shopping.

Probably, the most commonly used type of eraser are the little nubs of eraser that are attached to the ends of pencils. I know that I always run out of eraser before I run out of pencil, but maybe that’s just me. I make a lot of mistakes revisions while writing.

 

The rubber eraser is turning 242 years old today, and while there are plenty of alternative erasing products (vinyl is a very popular rubber substitute), nothing is more classic. And when you think of erasers,the first thing that comes to mind is the rubber eraser.

Leave a Reply

