What can we celebrate today?

Happy Look Up At The Sky Day

Posted on: April 12, 2012

Does anyone else think that looks like a dragon? Or is it just me?

It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s… It’s…. I don’t know, but look up there-there’s something in the sky!

I live in what my Mom has always affectionately called “Land of the Eight Month Winter”- the rest of the world calls us Central New York. We have the most cloud cover of any place in the United States, so we don’t very often get to see an unfettered sky.  That’s okay, though- at least the clouds give us something to look at on “Look Up At The Sky Day“.

True story: when I was a teenager, one of my favorite things to do was to stand on a busy sidewalk, or at a bus stop, and just stare up at the sky. Sometimes I’d put on a perplexed expression, sometimes I’d try to appear that I was in awe of some miraculous occurrence, or maybe I’d be “scared”.  It didn’t really matter, see, because there was never anything there! I just wanted to see how many people would stop and look up at the sky, just to see if they could figure out what I was looking at.

More surprising than the number of people who would stop walking just to look up at the sky with me was the number of people who would not ask what I was looking at. They would just stand there, searching the sky. And then they’d wander away, confused.

Give it a try- stand someplace where people will be passing by (try not to be obnoxious about it, though), and just stare up at the sky. Just wait, soon you’ll have a little crowd of people standing around, staring up at the sky with you. The hardest part will be keeping a straight face when someone finally does ask what you’re looking at, and you can tell them that you are just celebrating “Look Up At The Sky Day”.

I almost saw the sun... I think.

If you are looking for a gift idea for “Look Up At The Sky Day”, consider the Google Sky Map for Android. Then you can hold the sky in your hands!

Leave a Reply

