What can we celebrate today?

Happy National Cheese Fondue Day!

Posted on: April 11, 2012

Mmm… Melted, creamy cheese… what’s not to love? Cheese fondue IS a party, all by itself.

If you’re interested in the noble, and surprisingly long, history of cheese fondue, there’s a Wikipedia page for it (of course!). You’ll learn more about the cultural significance and economic impact of melted cheese than you ever knew you never knew.

If you’re interested in finding out how the heck April 11th became known as National Cheese Fondue Day, you are on your own- I have no clue! I found so many links that talked it up, but not one that gave me any idea of how this came about.

Until I read that wine is actually part of the fondue, I was planning on drinking a glass or two while dipping some cubed ham and crusty bread into the pot.  Oh, who am I kidding? I’m still going to drink wine while eating my wine infused cheese! I’ve also seen recomendations for drinking black tea, or strong spirits with fondue.

Join me- whip up some tasty cheese fondue of your own, grab a fondue stick and start dipping anything you think would taste good with cheese (is there anything that doesn’t taste good with cheese?). Or, if you’re lucky enough to live near a Melting Pot restaurant, treat yourself to an unforgettable fondue experience, and know that I’ll be seething with envy…

Leave a Reply

